Here’s to 2017!

The tree is undressed and the bottles all drained,

The wreath is away and some pounds have been gained!

Christmas is over and the New Year seen in,

Resolutions are made – let the “new me” begin!

© Libby Walden, 2017

leo-toast-9.w529.h352.2x

Happy New Year TTWers! I hope you all had fabulous festivities and find yourselves experiencing utter mortification that it’s all over for another year and we’re already a week into Jan? Good, not just me then!

The beginning of January always starts with a reflection on the year just passed – what we enjoyed, who we saw, what we read, etc. – and a look at what we want for the coming twelve months. I not the biggest fan of the unrealistic overhauls some people adopt but I do see the clean slate of the new year as a good opportunity to put the promise of better habits into practice. Frivolous spending will (for the most part!) be curbed, alcohol consumption will be reduced and the amount of exercise taken will increase. I have two huge weddings coming up this year – my sister’s and my best friend’s – so I have the motivation to look my most fabulous! It’s just down to me now…

Looking back, 2016 was a mixed little bag of a year. It saw my first picture book (Feelings, illustrated by the incredibly talented Richard Jones) and my first non-fiction book (In Focus) publish – both of which give me endless joy and pride every time I see them on my shelves and out “in the wild”!

(I’ve got some other books coming out in 2017 that I’m very excited about… more on that soon!)

feelings-in-focus

Early 2016 I also made the difficult decision to postpone my dissertation and put my MA on hold in the summer. Life had just got on top of me and my uni course was one thing I could hit ‘pause’ on while waiting for everything else to settle down. I am coming back with a vengeance to complete it this year though!

Oh and I bought a flat and moved into my first ever home this year!!! I’m still not sure the reality has sunk in that home is now where I live, rather than being where my parents are, but planning the décor has gone into overdrive! I love my little corner of the world, my safe haven in the craziness that is London and 2017 is all about nesting and making it the cosiest, snuggliest place for me to come home to (and yes, there will be candles!).

This year I want to read and review more books, both old and new, and I want to write more. Despite experiencing the amazing feeling of seeing my book on a trip to Waterstones, I don’t really see myself as a writer. I write but, at the moment, I write only because it’s in my job description to. 2017 is going to be a transition year – the year I put all those half-baked ideas in my little head to paper, play with them and either use or discard them. I’ve thrown down the proverbial gauntlet so it will happen!

Whatever happens in the wider world or at home, 2017 is only going to be as good as year as we make it, so let’s step into it with positivity and a long TBR list!

2017-tbr

The start of my 2017 reading list!

One thought on “Here’s to 2017!

Leave a Reply

