Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Characters I’d Name A Dog or Cat After

toptentuesday

Every week The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about. This week is all about literary pets – and I’ve loved coming up with my potential names! I have a bad case of planning everything light-years ahead of time and so there are at least two pets on this list will become my first animal friends. The boy and I are still arguing about Austen the cat but a Westie called Watson is definitely on the horizon (and so is Austen really…)

I’ve paired each name with the type of dog or cat I envisage them to be – there’s only one that was predetermined and that’s Henry. He’s been taken directly from Dick King Smith’s The Invisible Dog, a title I adored as a child.

This has definitely been my favourite TTT so I hope you enjoy it!

 

literary-dogs

Watson (left) = John Henry Watson (Sherlock Holmes series)

Pippi (top centre) = Pippi Longstocking (Pippi Longstocking series)

Scout (bottom centre) = Jean Louise “Scout” Finch (To Kill A Mockingbird)

Darcy (centre) = Mr Fitzwilliam Darcy (Pride and Prejudice)

Henry (right) = Henry the harlequin great dane (The Invisible Dog)

 

literary-cats

Manderley (left) = home of the De Winters (Rebecca)

Pevensie (centre) = The Pevensie children (The Chronicles of Narnia)

Austen (top centre) = Jane Austen

Atticus (bottom centre) = Atticus Finch (To Kill A Mockingbird)

Jekyll (right)= Dr Jekyll (The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde)

 

I hope you had as much fun with your lists as I did with mine! What literary name would you choose for your dog or cat?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Characters I’d Name A Dog or Cat After

Leave a Reply

