Top Ten Tuesday – Autumn/Winter TBR List

toptentuesday

Every week The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about. This week is all about the books to see me through the winter. There are a few books on this list that are a step away from my normal reads – I think I fancy a reading shake up as the nights draw in!

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
My colleagues have been raving about this book for some time now and, as we write some non-fiction titles, Henrietta Lacks has cropped up in conversation on more than one occasion. Its time I found out more methinks…

The Ask and the Answer and Monsters of Men
I finally started the Patrick Ness Chaos Walking trilogy last month and I am determined to finish it off before the year is out – the opener, The Knife of Never Letting Go, was stupendous (review coming)!

Yes Please
I’m not usually one for biographies/autobiographies but Amy Poehler is far too awesome a human being not to read about. I was putting off reading this book until I had experienced the entirety of Parks and Recreation (one of my new all-time faves) and now all seven seasons have been consumed, the time has come to read about the genius woman behind Leslie Knope.

The Sisters Brothers
This book was huge when it first came out but Western’s weren’t really my thing so I steered clear. Some family members have read The Sisters Brothers and loved it and as the boy and I are going to see The Magnificent Seven this weekend, it may be time to give this Western a try.

Are You Dave Gorman?
I read this book about five years ago and thought it was hilarious! It’s a book I wanted to give the boy – as two men going on an adventure based on a conversation in the pub is something I know he’d get on board with! – but wanted to reread first because it was so good the first time round!

Reasons to Stay Alive
With winter drawing ever closer, I do get really affected by the darker mornings and eves so I feel now is the time to crack open a book that has inspired many. I loved Matt Haig’s The Humans and it’s become my go-to recommended read so I have high hopes for this one.

Noughts and Crosses
Since a BBC adaptation was announced, I have been desperately meaning to schedule a reread of Malorie Blackman’s signature series. The long winter evenings seem like a perfect time methinks…

I’ll Be Home for Christmas
My company’s sister imprint has released this Christmassy anthology about the meaning of homes. With some of the biggest names in YA contributing at least £1 form every sale going to the amazing Crisis charity – this book is already scoring major points before I’ve even turned the first page!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane 
Because who better to get you through the cold, winter evenings than Neil Gaiman?!

What titles will be keeping you entertained this autumn?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Autumn/Winter TBR List

  1. Great list! I’m aiming to read more Neil Gaiman in the future so I’ll be interested to see what you think of that one. I’ve started Reasons to Stay Alive, I’ll have to pick it up again. I really need to finish the Chaos Walking Trilogy but I read The Knife of Never Letting Go yonks ago so it may take a while. 🙂
    I did something a bit different for this week’s TTT if you want to check it out: https://beccaeatsbooksblog.wordpress.com/2016/09/27/top-ten-books-that-were-out-of-my-comfort-zone/

Leave a Reply

