Theatre and Themes

My family and the boy will be the first people to agree with the statement that I am a dramatic person (for me though, the jury is still out on that one!) and so, unsurprisingly, I completely love the theatre! Knowing this, a lot of people have been asking me if I’m going to see The Cursed Child and yes, I am… in March next year! As such, I have no plans to read the book or any of the 5 star reviews until after I’ve been – it’s going to be a LONG seven months!

HP and the Cursed child

Come on March 2017!!

On the flip side, I was incredibly privileged to nab tickets for the preview of Tim Minchin’s new musical Groundhog Day and it was STUPENDOUS! The film was a staple in our household growing up and although Bill Murray is absent, the stage adaptation is so clever and so quick-witted that you just don’t care! If you get the chance to see either of Tim Minchin’s musicals (Matilda or GD) do go, he is a theatrical wizard!

Groundhog Day

“Phil? Phil Connors? Is that you?”

I also need to announce(/warn!) you that two very strong recurring themes are about to hit my Twitter and here at TTW. These will only be for the next few weeks but it’s going to get busy!

The first theme is to do with my job. I am incredibly privileged to have the job of children’s editor and in my company I have the added bonus of being able to write as well. Every book, no matter what the subject or extent, is incredibly special to me but there is one title, due to publish next month, which means even more! More news will follow but here’s a clue… (yes I’m being mildly mysterious!)

TWITTERBanner

The second theme is the gloriousness that is Roald Dahl. I have been attempting to organise myself enough to set up this challenge for two years and it is only this year I am ready! I will explain a bit more on the 31st August, so keep an eye out for that – you may want to join in with me. Fortuitously this challenge coincides with the celebration of 100 years since the birth of this wonderful man so I think it was exceptionally well planned…(by complete accident!)

Roald Dahl

Happy bank-holiday weekending everyone!

Leave a Reply

