Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books That Are On My Shelf From Before I Started Blogging That I STILL Haven’t Read

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about and this week is all about those titles that have been gathering dust, waiting to be picked. I started Through the Wardrobe in May 2013 and since then my bookshelves have been growing, and subsequently groaning under the weight of new shiny titles! But this post is about recognising those stalwart books that have stood patiently on my bookshelves over the years waiting for my attention so let’s give them some…

23.08.16

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
Every time I’m tempted to read this book, I always read the blurb and put it back on the shelves. It never seems the right time for a book of this subject matter but I have heard very good things about it.

Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery
I bought this after a reread of Anne of Green Gables but then shelved it because it sounded too much like Anne’s story and nothing can touch the original!

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch
As a Londoner and a book lover, I was immediately drawn to this book – particularly the striking cover. I know that it has fallen subject to my occasional ‘I own it therefore I must have read it’ mentality… need to remedy that sometime!

Heartburn by Nora Ephron
I love Nora Ephron’s films (who doesn’t?!) so really should make the time to explore her literary voice too.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M Valante
I desperately need a reread of the first Fairyland instalment before embarking on the rest of the series. I clearly remember loving Valente’s imagined world and language so I must get round to a reread soon.

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
I think this book came out at the same time as The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared and I chose to read that one instead. I’ve heard very good things about Joyce’s book though – clearly, I bought it!

The Box of Delights by John Masefield
Now I love this story without ever having read it because I had the dramatized version on audiobook when I was a child. It’s so wonderfully magical and Christmassy! I’ll try really hard this year to get around to this one when the winter’s close in – it is criminal that I haven’t yet read it.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
This book is heralded as the book to read if you love Dracula and, as you may know, Bram Stoker’s classic is one of my favourite all-time reads. It’s been sitting on the shelf for a while because when I’m in the mood for some vampiric action, I always turn to the original!

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
I am about to rectify this one, having just finished the first instalment and loved it so this won’t be an unread book for long!

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
It’s mainly the size of this one that has prevented my reading – it’s not exactly commuter-friendly! I have dipped in and out and admired the beauty of the artwork every time – a book for when I have a quiet weekend methinks.

What books have been waiting patiently on your shelves?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books That Are On My Shelf From Before I Started Blogging That I STILL Haven’t Read

  1. I can attest to two of these on your list! The Historian is a favorite of mine and I love Elizabeth Kostova. Swan Thieves by her, was pretty good as well. And I really loved The Lovely Bones. It’s sad, and a little weird, but all in all, very good.

Leave a Reply

