Top Ten Tuesday -Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Father Christmas Delivering

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about and this week is all about our Christmas wish lists.

Now I LOVE putting together my Christmas book wish list because usually I get most of them – the benefits being a confirmed book nerd, everyone knows it’s a safe present to purchase! However, as I am finishing up 2015 in the midst of house purchasing, my book wish-list has been cut down to just one solitary title in favour of the new house essentials – mixing bowls, DVD players, etc.

So, without further ado, here are the books I would have liked if I’d decided to throw caution to the wind and ask for them anyway…

Wishlist 1

Spectacles by Sue Perkins
This was actually the only book I had on my Christmas list this year so I will be pretty peeved if ol’ Father Christmas overlooked this beauty! I love Sue, whether she’s with Mel or Giles or standing solo, she is simply awesome so I am really looking forward in delving into her autobiography. Never underestimate the satisfying nosiness of a good autobiography people!

I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes
This is actually a present for the boy this year but in my agonising of “is this a good present? Will he like it?” I read the introductory pages on Amazon and now I really hope he reads it quickly so I can get back to where I left off!

A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig
Anyone who has met me in the last fortnight has heard me raving and recommending this book – I loved it (review here). For speed of reading I bought this on the Kindle but now I really want a lovely hardback version to read over and again every Christmas.

Wishlist 2

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
This is a recommendation from the blogosphere and I can’t wait to get stuck in – the premise sounds so unique and interesting. A girl who is allergic to the outside world finding a way to interact with it… sign me up for a read please FC!

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins
Another HUGE commuter hit this year – that book was everywhere so, naturally, I avoided it… But as I suggested this for the boy to get his mum (a fan of Gone Girl), the Search Inside got me (again!) and now I want to join the party on this one!

Front Lines by Michael Grant
Father Christmas would have to jump forward in time to get me a copy (as its release date isn’t until 28th January) but he’s magical so I have complete faith he can deliver! I am writing my university dissertation on the presentation of modern feminism in WWII novels and so this would be a perfect book for comparison – and it sounds awesome!

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson
If you’re a long-time reader of my blog you will know how much I love this woman. Her blog (thebloggess.com) is utterly hilarious and her first book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, was cheek-achingly funny. Fingers crossed for a brilliant second album!

Wishlist 3

Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blackman
I recently received Anne’s follow-on title to this book from the publisher to review but I never like reading out of sequence – just can’t do it! – so FC would have to get his skates on to deliver the first book in this story of a girl who found herself desperate to escape Hitler’s inner circle.

How to be a Domestic Goddess by Nigella Lawson
As I am about to become a homeowner (!!!!) I feel I need this book in my life. My Mum’s copy has been read cover to cover, over and again, and some of the recipes (although utterly sugar-coma inducing) sound perfect for my new kitchen.

Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers
One hardback copy please Father C! This gorgeous and hilarious poetic alphabet book has been a coveted but unjustifiable purchase for a while now but if you can’t be spoilt at Christmas, when can you be?!

I hope all you lovely TTW readers get everything you wish for this Christmas!

IMG_1139

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday -Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Father Christmas Delivering

  1. Those Christmas book stacks are adorable haha. Also, I totally agree with you about being a “confirmed bookworm” and how that works out for gifts! I just recently started blogging and basically advertising everywhere that I like to read and now every gift-giving holiday I either receive a book or a gift card! It’s perfect haha 😀

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

