Debut Authors – What Haddon Did Next…

Now I have explored the debut novel of Mark Haddon, it’s time to go a little further through the wardrobe to unearth what he did post-Curious Incident

Haddon, M

Author: Mark Haddon (1962–)

Debut novel: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (2003)

Age of author when debut published: 31

140 character review: A breathtakingly honest depiction of the world through the eyes of painfully logical mind. Complex yet simple, it’s just beautiful! (Original review here – 5 stars)

Favourite quote from debut: “All the other children at my school are stupid. Except I’m not meant to call them stupid, even though this is what they are.”

Reception of debut: Haddon’s break-through book was undoubtedly The Curious Incident… and was his debut novel for adults. This notoriously brilliant crossover novel won numerous awards including the 2003 Whitbread Book of the Year, the 2004 Boeke Prize, 2004 Alex Award and the prestigious Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize. It was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize and sold more than two million copies in its first run. Now adapted for the stage (which is a fantastic show by the way!) and with a film in the works, the world of Christopher Boone has become more accessible than ever.

Other notable works:

Boom! (1994)

A Spot of Bother (2006)

The Red House (2012)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s