Liebster Award

liebster logo

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by the super lovely Marina at Book Poisoning – thank you SO much and apologies that it’s taken me FOREVER to write this. The reason is explained below.

So, here are the Liebster rules :

Acknowledge the blog who nominated you and display the award
Answer eleven questions that the blogger gives you
Give eleven random facts about yourself
Nominate eleven bloggers that you think are deserving of the award
Give them eleven questions to answer

Simples! I’m just enjoying the fact that this award sounds very similar to one of my nicknames (Libster) because it’s the small things in life! Right, let’s head straight to the q&a…

 

Questions Answered

Liebster 1

1. Which fictional character do you wish were real?
The BFG. He is without a doubt my favourite Dahl character for not only is he creative with the English language, he can bound across country effortlessly! I’d love to cook up some wondercrump dreams with this gentle giant and then race across the beautiful fields and cities, delivering them to all and sundry!

2. What is the longest book you’ve ever read?
Probably Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke at 1,024 pages. Worth every turn of the page though, I loved it! (review here)

3. Any book you wish you could reread for the first time?
I would love to reread The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafón again because it’s just perfect. As it’s a mystery, I will never get to experience the thrill of the ‘big reveal’ again and I’d love to be able to once more in order to find out, from scratch, just who is Julián Carax?

4. What’s your favourite thing about blogging?
This is my favourite and least favourite thing about blogging – the book recommendations. I love talking and discussing books (which is why I also work in the book industry btw!) and being a blogger means I get to do this with so many people from so many different parts of the world so I see a LOT of books that I want to read. Trouble is… I can’t physically read them all and my bank balance gets very upset with me when I think buying equates to reading!

Liebster 2

5. If you could live inside a book, which one would it be?
I think I would have to say the Magic Faraway Tree series by Enid Blyton because it has the comfort of home but the endless possibilities to explore when you climb the top of the tree and travel to unknown lands. Plus you get to hang out with Moon-Face and Silky all day!

6. Which author would you most like to meet?
I’m going to cheat and say two here (one dead and one alive). I would have loved to have met the legend that is Roald Dahl – he changed the focus of children’s literature and created worlds that are still bestsellers today. A total hero! And secondly I would love to meet Rainbow Rowell purely because I think she is an awesome writer. I have loved every single one of her books and will always be wanting more from the stylishly funny writer.

7. If you could have any of your questions about a book answered, what would it be? (ex: what happens to Gale after Mockingjay? etc.)
This changes on a daily basis because it’s a question dependent on what book I’ve just finished and if I loved it. Today, I would want to know what happened to Eleanor of Eleanor and Park. How could she find the strength to walk away without really looking back?

Liebster 3

8. Which book do you have no intention of reading?
War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. I know this is a “100 Books to Read Before You Kick The Bucket” contender but there is literally nothing about this book that invites me to look beyond the cover and, as I have the life’s-too-short-to-read-a-torturous-book philosophy, I probably never will.

9. Are you more Amazon or your local bookstore?
Since working in publishing, I try to make a conscious effort to go into bookshops to buy books and so my local Waterstones has received a lot more of my custom because of that. I also used to work in a beautiful children’s bookshop so local indies are very close to my heart if not to my home!

10. Which character’s death was just too real to handle?
Spoilers here people! I would go with the various deaths that had me sobbing throughout the HP series but I think the most devastating death that still affects me every time I read the book is Matthew Cuthbert’s in Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery. He was the softest, most darling man and would-be father to Anne that it kills me to know that he would never witness how she grew up.

11. If you could have a bookish-themed wedding, what theme would you choose?
I am a traditionalist and a bit of a romantic so I think if I had to have a themed wedding it would be based on my favourite book, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Absolutely NO bonnets though!

 

Now It’s All About Me!

1. I study children’s books at university part-time and work in children’s publishing – a dream I am very thankful I have realised.

2. I have recently discovered the deliciousness of homemade Guinness Chocolate Cake and now can’t stop thinking about it!

3. The love I have for the Harry Potter books is deep, real and unbreakable.

4. Sometimes I find it difficult to blog – my brain just stops wanting to write – so I have mini-breaks from time to time (just recovering from one now).

5. Netball is one of my favourite sports to play and I get grumpy when I’m away from it too long.

6. I cannot wait until I feel old and responsible enough to have a dog (and yes, I have named at least 4 of the dogs I want!)

7. Though I am a girl, I really cannot stand shopping! I hate the swarms of people and the prices of things – I try really hard not to buy anything full price! That being said, I do LOVE planning and buying presents for people, it makes me happy to make someone else smile.

8. I dream of living in the beautiful city of Bath but love London too much to leave right now.

9. I prefer to binge-watch TV series on DVD than watch actual television and am mid-way through a Supernatural craze at the moment.

10. Much to the amusement of my friends and the boy, I cannot live without my old school paper diary – I organise everything in that thing!

11. The spelling of Maltesers upsets me greatly. They should be spelt how they are pronounced, MalteAsers. Why hasn’t this been corrected yet?!

 

My Nominees…

Shh It’s a Library
Book Owly
Paperback Worlds
Reads Books Reviews
A Cat in the Flat
Picture Books Blogger
The Captive Reader
The Sleepless Reader
Chrissi Reads
Right Ink On The Wall
Beautificating Life

My Questions For You Lovely Lot

1. Where did the name of your blog come from?
2. Where do you like to read the most?
3. Who do you most admire?
4. What’s your favourite play? (and yes, musicals do count!)
5. What do you want to be doing in 5 years’ time?
6. What is next on your reading list?
7. Do you prefer city or country living?
8. Which bookshelf do you head to first in a bookshop?
9. What book have you absolutely hated?
10. Which book has surprised you the most (either thought you would love it and hated, vice versa, shock twist, etc.)?
11. If you could swap with one celebrity for the day who would it be and why?

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

