Top Ten Tuesday – Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about and this week I’m delving through my old receipts for my ten most recent book purchases!

I freely admit that I have a problem when it comes to buying books and that is because books just excite me! If I hear about a good book or discover a great cover or read a captivating blurb when I’m wandering the shelves then I’m more often than not tempted towards the till with said book in my hot sweaty little hands! My love of books is just deep and real, what else can I say?!

So without further ado here are the books that have tempted me of late…

FullSizeRender-1

Bitter Sweets by Roopa Farooki
Ever since I read The Good Children (review) I have wanted more Roopa Farooki in my life and now I have her debut I get to see where her writing career began!

The Secret History by Donna Tartt
This was recommended to me as a must-read for my age and stage in life. An intriguing enough suggestion to warrant a purchase…

Where’s Walrus? by Stephen Savage
I LOVE wordless picture books and the retro styling of Savage’s book made it utterly impossible to resist.

Relish – My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley
A graphic novel about food – how did I not know about this sooner?! This blog post from The Pretty Books alerted me to this interesting title so I felt compelled to investigate further.

Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
I started watching the film adaptation of this book and was surprisingly impressed. I adore ancient Greek mythology and culture and so when I saw this copy in a charity shop I thought, why not?

14.07.15 Recent Purchases

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay
This is a pure indulgent purchase and also a pre-order. I was lucky enough to receive a voucher for the exact price of this book so there was literally nothing stopping me – I am UNBELIEVABLY EXCITED!!!

The Girl Who Walked on Air by Emma Carroll
I had never heard of Emma Carroll before but I found myself desperate to read her books after seeing how enthusiastic fellow book blogger Chrissi Reads was about Carroll’s work (here) – this is why I love blogging (and also why my bank balance doesn’t!)

All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman
99p on Kindle and that title – how could I resist?!

A Day at the Office by Matt Dunn
Another 99p Kindle deal. I started to read this using the Search Inside feature and then wanted to read more… Buy It Now button engaged!

A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson
This book was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize a while ago and I’ve been meaning to read it for a while – I hoping it will channel Matt Haig’s The Humans (review) in style and be an uplifting read indeed.

What book-related purchases have tempted you recently?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

  1. I can’t WAIT for the illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone! I’ve only read the first Percy Jackson book so far, but I really enjoyed it and want to continue with the series. You have some great books on here!

    • The pre-release illustrations look utterly amazing!! I love Jim Kay and his work on Patrick Ness’ A Monster Calls was breathtaking so I have high, high hopes! Thanks so much, I think Percy Jackson might be a new read soon

  2. The HP illustrated edition ! I’ve had my eyes on it for months. I hope it’s as gorgeous as promised. And I agree with whoever recommended The Secret History, it’s absolutely amazing. Great list !

Leave a Reply

