Debut Authors – What Doyle Did Next…

Now I have explored the debut novel of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, it’s time to go a little further through the wardrobe to unearth what he did post-A Study In Scarlet

Conan Doyle, A

Author: Arthur Conan Doyle (1859–1930)

Debut novel: A Study in Scarlet (1887 in serial form for Beeton’s Christmas Annual, 1888 in book form)

Age of author when debut published: 27

140 character review: Here we meet Watson and Holmes for the first time, learning about their sensibilities and ability to sense truth right from the off! (Original review here – 3 stars)

Favourite quote from debut: “There’s the scarlet thread of murder running through the colourless skein of life, and our duty is to unravel it, and isolate it, and expose every inch of it.”

Reception of debut: Written in less than three weeks, A Study in Scarlet heralded the arrival of one of the most famous literary characters (and partnerships) in history. Holmes and Watson’s first case was originally published in Beeton’s Christmas Annual but progressed to book publication only a year later. Holmes was deemed such a popular character that Doyle was inundated with commissions for more stories of the infamous detective. In 1893 Doyle decided to kill off Holmes in order to dedicate more time to his passion for historical fiction but the general public were having none of it! Due to public outcry Doyle was forced to resentfully revive his literary creation again in 1901 with arguably his most popular work, The Hound of the Baskervilles, and continued to create Sherlock stories for another 25 years. Doyle created a great literary legacy with Sherlock and his most famous detective and sidekick continue to live on nearly 130 years later in museums, societies, board games and the many radio/television/stage/film adaptations – the best of which, in my opinion, is the one starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman!

Other notable works:

The Sign of the Four (1890)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892)

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894)

The Hound of the Baskervilles (1901)

The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905)

The Valley of Fear (1915)

His Last Bow (1917)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s