Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about and this week focuses on those popular books everyone has talked/is talking about that I am yet to discover.

I’ve steered away from those classics that top every ‘100 books to read before you die’ lists as I wanted this top ten to be a bit more contemporary. This list contains hyped books that I am dying to read, books I’ve attempted and books I wouldn’t touch with a barge pole! If a book is trending in the literary world, I tend to avoid it as I find that hype affects expectation and I like to enjoy a book on it’s own merit in my own time.

So, without further ado, here are the popular books that I am yet to read…

Hyped Books 1

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth
This trilogy is always recommended to me because I love The Hunger Games by Susanne Collins and yet I haven’t found the time to dip into this particular dystopian world. When people make comparisons between two series, sometimes it can be to the detriment of one of them. I reread THG recently so shall wait for the memory to fade a bit before embarking on Divergent.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
Every blogger worth their salt (or at the least, the lovely bloggers I follow!) has read this book and loved it! Because I have absolutely adored both Rowell’s I’ve read I purchased this book a while ago. I haven’t read it yet because I still feel that the hype is affecting my expectation of E&P so want to calm myself down before attempting “the best Rowell ever written”!

Hyped Books 2

Life of Pi by Yann Martel
I have tried to read this book twice and both times failed because the first few chapters have failed to grab me. Whenever I’ve spoken to people about this they always say the same thing – “but when you get to the bit on the boat it’s amazing!“ I feel that perhaps popular Pi and I will remain forever estranged as I don’t particularly enjoy having to work that hard to enjoy a book.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George RR Martin
You may well ask why I have not dipped into one of the most popular book series of all time and the answer is simple – time. I’m pretty sure that I would want to read these books in sequence and with university reading, my Debut Novels Challenge and attempting to control my TBR pile (!!) I just haven’t got time to dedicate to Martin’s huge body of work yet but I KNOW I’ll get there.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
I am so excited to see the Oscar-winning adaptation of this best-selling debut but first things first… I need to read the book! Stockett’s debut has always been earmarked as my next holiday read so, when I’m travelling up to Edinburgh in August, I’m confident it shall be my travelling companion.

Hyped Books 3

Fifty Shades of Grey series by EL James
I apologise now to anyone that likes these books but I know I will never ever read them. I read the Twilight series a few years back so that I could justify my inherent dislike for the books (I chose not to review them for this reason!) and so a BDSM franchise written as fan fiction for a vampire book series I hated really doesn’t appeal to me!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
There was a time a few years ago when I couldn’t move on my commute without seeing a copy of Morgenstern’s book being read avidly! I love the cover of this book and the contents sound utterly wonderful – a magical treat waiting for me indeed!

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
The sheer size of this book makes it a daunting read but everyone I know who has read it has assured me that it is completely worth the back pain of lugging around! So, you may ask, why have I not indulged? Because The Goldfinch is earmarked to be part of my 2016 reading challenge… stay tuned for details!

Hyped Books 4

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling
Despite having a signed (yes, signed!) copy of JK’s first adult novel, I still haven’t read it – partly because, despite the hype, I know it has had mixed reviews and I don’t want to fall on the disapproving side of the fence and partly because I am not ready to read something JK that isn’t HP!

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
Winner of the Man Booker Prize and all-round beloved novel, The Remains of the Day is the closest book to a classic within this list. Ishiguro is lauded and applauded amongst literary types and yet his books have always eluded me. Time for that to change methinks…

How many hyped books have passed you by?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I put off The Help forEVER despite having seen the movie first (and absolutely looooving the movie) 😄 But the book is JUST as good and, well, probably better. 😉 I also started Game of Thrones this year and so far, omg, I love it so much! It’s pretty intense though. And it’s like a series I read “on the side” because one book takes me like 3 months. 😄 Here’s my TTT!

  2. I read the first two books in the divergent trilogy and while I liked the first one the second one was just meh.

    I’ve read the first book of Fifty shades of Gray, but was like really? I don;t see where the fan fic comes into play either. Maybe it’s just me.

    • I’ve heard a lot about the second Divergent book being a disappointment – I felt that way about the third Hunger Games book the first time I read it but really enjoyed it the second time.
      I think it was based on Twilight for the older man/naive girl and forbidden aspect of love thing – either way I don’t think it’s for me!

Leave a Reply

