Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Titles On My Summer TBR List

toptentuesday

Every week lovely people at The Broke and the Bookish conjure up a new Top Ten list for us book bloggers to write about and this week it’s a countdown of my future reads for this glorious of British summers.

A few of these books have been predetermined by my Debut Novels Challenge but there is always scope to squeeze in a few for fun, especially when the sun is shining and lazy park days are a-calling so here it is, the list of novels I endeavor to read Summer 2015!

Summer TBR 1

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee
As arguably the biggest release of the year (if not the decade!), I cannot let July 2015 pass me by without reading Harper Lee’s lost-now-found follow-up novel to one of the greatest books of all time.

Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
The time has come and the Debut Novels Challenge has thrown forth yet another classic novel I am yet to read! This satirical WW2-based drama appears in nearly every “100 books to read” list and so it will be added to be TBR list this summer!

Summer TBR 2

How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran
Caitlin Moran is such a brilliant writer – she observes the world with such an astute and comedic eye and always says exactly what I wish I could so I am very much looking forward to reading her first work of fiction.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
Now, the renowned film adaptation and the internet has ruined the big twist in this tale for me but I shall endeavor to pretend to be unaware as I read Palahniuk’s debut for the first time this summer.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley
As a lover of all things food-related and a newfound lover of graphic novels, I cannot imagine a book that would suit me more than Knisley’s foodie memoir!

Summer TBR 3

Stardust by Neil Gaiman
I am deliberately slow in making my way through Gaiman’s authorial canon because I don’t want to binge-read and run out of books too quickly (!!) but I feel the time has come for more Gaiman in my life. Stardust is one of my favourite films so I have high hopes to enjoy the book even more!

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
I absolutely adored Wein’s debut Code Name Verity (review) and, as her second title, I cannot wait to read Rose Under Fire. These two books are potential contenders for my dissertation next semester at university so I really hope I love it as much as the first.

Church of Marvels by Leslie Parry
I found this book on bookbridgr and was fortunate enough to have been sent a copy. I loved the sound of this story, following three characters whose lives become entwined in 1890s New York and can’t wait to see what happens.

Summer TBR 4

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde
I studied this book at university and fell in love with the intricate gothic setting and the romantic idea of the double. Living your life without the care of morality is a really interesting concept for Victorian society so I’m really looking forward to revisiting this classic tale as part of my debut challenge.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman
This was another triumphant bookbridgr request! The title and the blurb really spoke to me (having grown up with a far-from-your-average grandmother myself!) and I love the premise of learning to accept your weirdness!

What books will be accompanying you in the sunshine this summer?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Titles On My Summer TBR List

  1. I’ve yet to read Stardust as well. It’s sitting on my bookshelf, but I’m not quite sure when I’ll get to it, just because I have so many other books to read. *lol*

    Right now I’m reading Juliet Marillier’s “Daughter of the Forest.” It’s pretty good! I’m also planning to read Karina Sumner-Smith’s “Defiant,” Tina Connolly’s “Ironskin,” and Renee Ahdieh’s “The Wrath and the Dawn.” I have a few others on top of those, but we’ll see how many I get through. 😉

Leave a Reply

