Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Characters You’d Like To Check In With

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish conjure up a topic for book bloggers to write their top ten list on and this week it’s all about catching up with your favourite characters.

With reading, we invest so much time in certain characters and follow them on their journeys/adventures/romances etc. that it can be difficult to shut the back cover and return to normal life. So lets pretend that there were some way of going back to chat to those characters who made such an impact, to have a little natter to see how they’d get on. Who would you pick?

Here are mine!

Revisit Characters1

Fezzik and Inigo Montoya – The Princess Bride
William Goldman’s high fantasy fairy tale of love and adventure has become one of my absolute favourite reads and contains two of my all-time favourite characters (the man-squeezing giant and the vengeful son). This cult classic has been crying out for a sequel for decades but Goldman still can’t find the right words – I SO hope he does!

Kate Fitzgerald – My Sister’s Keeper
This book had me sobbing on a beach in one of the most beautiful places on earth such was the heart-shattering ending! I’d love to see if Kate has managed to become her own person and if she is finally hospital-free and living her life the way she wanted.

Daniel Sempere – The Shadow of the Wind
I know there is a sequel to my favourite read of 2014 but I am yet to get around to reading it so for me this still counts! Daniel’s journey through the history of Julián Carax was astoundingly gripping and I want to know if he found any more histories to trace or books with hidden secrets.

Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy – Pride and Prejudice
The love story between Lizzie and Mr Darcy is timeless, classic and wonderfully imperfect. Many authors have tried (and, in my opinion, failed miserably!) to take up the Darcy gauntlet but I would love a glimpse of Pemberley life, as Austen herself would have imagined.

Revisit Characters2

The BFG – The BFG
The smallest giant in Giant country set up camp in England at the end of his tale and yet I would love to know how he got on! How many new words did he come up with? Did Sophie live with him always? Also I cannot emphasize enough how excited I am about the new BFG film with my favourite Dahl character being voice by the stage legend Mark Rylance – I squeal aloud regularly, thinking about this!

Ron Weasley – Harry Potter series
I’d love to see if my favourite HP character had finally found his place in the world post-Battle of Hogwarts. JK Rowling has very kindly given her fans small insights into the adult lives of her characters but I would love to read Ron’s move from being a partner in Weasley Wizard Wheezes to becoming an Auror as well as his marriage to Hermione and becoming a dad in more detail.

Professor Martin – The Humans
An alien in a man’s body learning what it means to be human – how can you not want to see how that pans out in the long run?!

Revisit Characters3

Bod – The Graveyard Book
This boy was born and raised in a graveyard by a host of ghosts and a vampire – imagining him in the “normal” world leads to many questions indeed! Can/Does he function in the real world? Is he accounting it up or does he have a more off-the-wall type job?

Nick and Amy Dunne – Gone Girl
What a twisted tale and even twistier ending! I mean, seriously?! Morbid curiosity leads me to wonder about these two and how their family and relationship dynamic could possibly survive that.

Scout – To Kill A Mockingbird
This last one is a cheating a little as anyone with any connection to the literary world (or even just the news!) will know that the great general public will soon find out what happened to that curious little girl as Harper Lee’s new book (a sequel to TKAM) is out this summer!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Characters You’d Like To Check In With

  1. Fezzik and Inigo! I agree with this one so much. They’re such great characters, I’d love to see where life took them. I have my fingers crossed that Goldman can write the sequel. *pleasepleasepleaseplease*

  2. I totally had the same thought about Bod! I really want to know he navigates the normal world! I love the point you brought up about Ron. I would really love to know how he went from Weasley Wizard Wheezes to being an auror. There must have been something that spurred him to make that change! Really great list!

  3. Yes! The BFG didn’t even cross my mind when I was working on my list, but I loved that book as a kid (and still do!). What a great choice! This idea has me smiling…

Leave a Reply

