Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish conjure up a topic for book bloggers to write their top ten list on and this week it’s all about the glories of childhood reads.

I am unbelievably lucky in that I get to work in children’s books and study children’s literature at university so I do have a ready-made excuse to revisit my old faves any time I like! However, there are still a few that have eluded my rereads though – I keep spotting them on my bookcase and wishing for more time in the day to dip back into the magical worlds I so loved!

FullSizeRender (1)

The Magic Faraway Tree series by Enid Blyton
I devoured everything Blyton when I was little and the adventures of the Magic Faraway Tree with the ever-changing worlds at the top of the tree kept me utterly spell-bound. With the Sam Mendes film adaptation announced last year I think a refresh might be in order.

The Wind Singer trilogy by William Nicholson
When the term ‘dystopian’ smashed into popularity I immediately thought back to the awesomeness of this series and I just have to reread to see if my memories of it are as good as the real thing.

Noughts & Crosses series by Malorie Blackman
I never finished this series in my childhood and I have absolutely no idea why as I was absolutely captivated by the first two titles. These titles centre on such an ingenious, sensitive and interesting premise written by the amazing Malorie Blackman that I know when I get round to rereading I will be hooked once more.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
This book made me laugh out loud and bawl my eyes out – a rollercoaster of emotions, farming and friendship. It’s heart-achingly beautiful.

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren
A real-life red-headed heroine with super-strength whose father is king of the cannibals and who lives alone with a horse and a monkey – how can you not love this book?! The details of this story is hazy, such is the length of time since I last read it, but I watched the cartoon a lot as a child and remember completely adoring Pippi.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Like almost every school child, I first encountered this amazing story in an English class when I was about 11. It was the first time I remember being genuinely outraged at a book because Lee isn’t afraid of disappointing her readers in order to demonstrate the injustices of history. It is a powerful yet beautiful read and I’m really looking forward to revisiting it later this year (as well as reading her new book in July!).

Children's Books to Revisit1

My Naughty Little Sister Stories by Dorothy Edwards and Shirley Hughes
As a little sister myself, I loved these stories! I was never that annoying or badly behaved (I believe…) but I still really enjoyed seeing the antics of the sisters in the tales and Shirley Hughes’ illustrations were, of course, perfection themself!

The Sally Lockhart series by Philip Pullman
I missed out on reading His Dark Materials as a child but I did manage to pick up Pullman’s Ruby in the Smoke and fell in love with the Sherlock-style Victorian mystery world that Sally Lockhart inhabits. I don’t remember a lot about these stories but I do remember loving them – time for a big reread soon methinks!

Just William by Richmal Crompton (or, more specifically, the Martin Jarvis’ audiobooks of these books)
This perfect pairing entertained my entire family for almost every car journey throughout my childhood. I still can’t quote “To be or not to be” without hearing the genius of Jarvis’ intonation as naughty William! My Mum in particular would absolutely crease herself listening to these tales so maybe it’s time to upgrade from the cassette tapes and recreate the magic…

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
I count myself as one of the lucky generation who discovered and grew up waiting for the next Harry Potter book – racing through the new title the same day it was released! I adore the Stephen Fry audiobooks and, as such, find myself reaching for them rather than rereading the books. My debut novel challenge this year will, however, make me turn those wonderful pages later this year and I for one cannot wait!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit

  1. I loved TKAM too, but you were only 11 when you read it?! That’s really intense! I think I was maybe 14/15 but it made such an impact on me (I even have a puppy named Atticus now. 😉 and GAH, it’s such a timeless classic. Love the cover of the one you own too! Charlotte’s Web was such a heartbreaker. *sniffles*
    Here’s my TTT!

  2. I think Charlotte’s Web didn’t make my list because I’ve maybe put it on too many other of my lists… I just read TKAMB last year, and loved it. It was a great audiobook, too, and like you, I go back to the Harry Potter audiobooks over and over again, though I wasn’t a child when they came out. I need to go back to Sally Lockhart though, as I loved them and never have!

  3. I’ve only read the first two in the Noughts and Crosses series as well and I really enjoyed them so I’m not sure why I didn’t finish it. I’ll have to pick them up and finish it one day.

    I didn’t know about The Faraway Tree becoming a movie so now I’m really excited! I love that book and it was originally read to my class by our teacher outside on a field beside a huge oak tree. I have such strong vivid memories of that book so hopefully the movie lives up to them.

Leave a Reply

