Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish conjure up a topic for book bloggers to write their top ten list on and this week is full of the joys of spring (reading).

As you all know, a few of these books will have been predetermined by my Debut Novels Challenge but there is always scope to squeeze in a few for fun and as it is the month of my birthday, a few new books will be added to my shelves so I am pre-emptively excited to read those too!

Picture1

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
I spent the weekend in Bath recently, stewarding at the Bath Literature Festival and I cannot go there without buying books – it’s impossible! This lovely edition of Sense and Sensibility caught my eye and as it’s a debut novel included in my challenge anyway, I thought why not?

The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz
The boy bought this for me for Christmas just gone – not because he read my previous post on authors taking on other author’s characters but because he absolutely loved it. I’m really interested in seeing Sherlock Holmes in the hands of someone other than Conan Doyle.

Heart-shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne
This book has been sat between my owl bookends for an extraordinarily long time so it’s finally going to have its day this spring! I have heard such good things about this book too so not sure why I’ve waited…

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
My second debut novel in this list and my bibliophile secret – this will be my first time reading this classic coming-of-age tale… I am aware how appalling this is but I am in the process of rectifying this and will do so immediately!

Josephine by Kate Williams
I first found out about the amazing life of Josephine Bonaparte at the Bath Literature Festival a few years ago when I happened to steward an event by Kate Williams, the author. Her talk was so interesting and impassioned that I immediately bought the book and now I get to read this biography in full.

Spring TBR list

The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester
This is a requested birthday present so I’m hoping I do actually receive it! It’s a Victorian mystery tale revolving around trapeze artists, suffragettes and a female journalist – I have high hopes!

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
I studied this book at university and fell in love with the intricate gothic setting and the romantic idea of the double. Living your life without the care of morality is a really interesting concept for Victorian society so I’m really looking forward to revisiting this classic tale as part of my debut challenge.

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey
This book has been absolutely everywhere this year so it would be very remiss of me, as a blogger, not to put my two penceworths in!

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Probably the most successful posthumous debut novel ever written, Larsson’s award-winning The Millennium Trilogy exploded onto the market in 2005 and certainly made its mark! I raced through my first read of these addictive books so I’m looking forward to taking more time this time round.

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick
This novel was such a huge YA debut and its film adaptation was Oscar-winning so again, the hopes are high! I love Jennifer Lawrence and have been holding off watching the film until the book’s been read so the clocks a ticking…

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books On My Spring TBR List

  1. I really enjoyed Sense and Sensibility, personally. It isn’t as funny as Pride and Prejudice (which I read first and couldn’t help comparing it to because the plots are somewhat similar) but I still found it lovely.

  2. I want to read ELIZABETH IS MISSING very soon. Have heard good things. I’ve read and listened to THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO. One of my favorites – well, the whole trilogy is. Wish it could have been more than a trilogy.

Leave a Reply

