Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books For Readers Who Like _________

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish conjure up a topic for book bloggers to write their top ten list on and this week is slightly more open ended than usual as we get to fill in the blank!

So (drumroll please…) I have decided to choose Ten Books For Readers Who Like…

Quirky Picture Books!

I LOVE a quirky picture book – whether its in the novelty of the title itself or the style of text or illustration, if it grabs me from the opposite bookshelf, I more often than not will purchase! Whether these books are more for illustration aficionados rather children is an argument for another time. Who these books are ‘for’ is irrelevant in relation to this list – they are just magnificently brilliant and I love their quirky wonder and I hope you do too!

Quirky Picture Books 1

Press Here by Hervé Tullet
Pure genius. In a world of computer games, apps and all other digital whatsits Tullet’s picture book is fresh, innovative and fabulous with its amazing moving/changing/disappearing dots.

Popville by Anouck Boisrobert and Louis Rigaud
This wordless wonder adds additional pop ups to a single scene with every turn of the page – from a single country church to a busy cityscape.

There Are No Cats In This Book by Viviane Schwarz
I love books that break the fourth wall and Schwarz’s tale of three mischievous little cats is absolutely brilliant! I particularly enjoy throwing balls of wools and blow-drying the cats – confused? Buy the book!

Wild by Emily Hughes
The artwork in this book is nothing short of beautiful. I adore the wide-eyed characters and changing landscapes as we travel from the wilderness into the city and back again.

Quirky Picture Books 2

The Book With No Pictures by B.J. Novak
For a wordy person like me this book is an utter joy! It shows children the power of words as imaginative tools as well as something to play with. I can’t help but believe this book will spawn a generation of wordsmiths and authors a plenty!

Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers
Because who doesn’t love Oliver Jeffers?! This is my absolute favourite Jeffers book as it journeys through the alphabet with bite-sized poetic and illustrative gems – utterly hysterical!

A Bit Lost by Chris Haughton
A small owl accidentally falls out of his tree and enlists a friendly squirrel in the bid to return home. Haughton’s fantastic sense of style and humour flits between word and image effortlessly to create a wonderfully brilliant tale.

I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen
One of my absolute favourites! Every page could be a print hanging on a wall, its beautifully stylised. I love the sarcasm, the dead pan wit and the wonderfully dark ending – I revisit this beautiful book at least once a week.

Quirky Picture Books 3

This is… series by Miroslav Sasek
Sasek’s city books are the perfect introduction to the sights, style and scenes to be found in each major city. I’ve chosen to show the London cover here but he depicts New York, Rome, Paris, etc. – the list goes on but the beauty stays the same.

Almost an Animal Alphabet by Katie Viggers
This book is style and substance personified as Viggers illustrates each letter of the alphabet with a plethora of letter-related animals, for example B is for Bear and yet we have eight different bears depicted. It’s a wonderfully imaginative take on the alphabet and I could happily spend hours looking at this book.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books For Readers Who Like _________

  1. Great idea for a list. I don’t know a lot of these and I do read a lot of picture books. I can’t think of any ‘quirky’ ones off the top of my head but I sure can think of some great ones 🙂 I’ll have to check some of these out.

  2. I love your topic for today’s top ten Tuesday! Picturebooks are a great love of mine, so I am intrigued by your list. Of course, I love Oliver Jeffers, and Press Here is one of my faves! The This is… series is another favorite. Fantastic list!

Leave a Reply

