Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVOURITE BOOKS from the past 3 years

toptentuesday

Every week the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish conjure up a topic for book bloggers to write their top ten list on and this week is all about looking back on the best recent reads.

I’ve slightly decreased the time frame for this week’s list and I’ll tell you for why. Through the Wardrobe has been going for almost two years (!!) so I thought I would pick the ten books I would class as ALL TIME favourites from my review backlist (plus 6 honorary mentions – it’s not cheating, shhh!). Reviews are linked so sit back and enjoy!

All Time Faves 1

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
This was my book of the year last year and I cannot recommend it enough! Zafón’s narrative style is beautiful and his tale is utterly gripping so if you haven’t discovered him yet, I urge you to do so – you won’t regret it! (Review)

The Hunger Games trilogy by Susanne Collins
These books are compelling-to-the-point-of-addiction as reads! Every time I start my journey to Panem I race my way through trilogy and I would still go back for more. (Reviews here, here and here)

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Fangirl is a lighthearted and brilliantly written tale about finding your own identity both behind and in front of reality’s camera and Rowell is fast becoming one of my favourite writers. (Review)

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
Everyone needs to read this book once in their lives! Zusak offers a completely unique and fresh take on a WWII novel by choosing to have his tale narrated by the elusive character of Death to superb effect. (Review)

All Time Faves 2

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Wein’s war novel has deception, torture, planes and fights as well as two unbelievable protagonists. The story is woven and complex with the audience having to play detective in order to uncover the true tale beneath the lies. Completely captivating. (Review)

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
This book is a literary Russian nesting doll with each mini-story relating to the overarching narrative in a beautifully intricate and heart-aching way. Seven stories spanning ten centuries, perfect balance and narrative precision. (Review)

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
Words can’t begin to describe the wonderful world of Anne Shirley and Green Gables! I grew up with these books and it was as beautiful rereading it recently as I remembered – it’s a heart-warming classic. (Review)

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
More than any other books before or since, Sepetys’ novel triggered a huge post-read reflection. It focuses on a part of WWII history I was unfamiliar with and utterly astounded by and delivers a near-perfect narrative. (Review)

All Time Faves 3

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
This is the most bonkers but completely awesome memoir book I have ever read! Jenny becomes your mad-capped friend you can’t help but love and laugh along with; it is my go-to feel good book. (Review)

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
The literary reputation of this title had initially put me off this book altogether but upon reading it, I never want to stay away. It is utterly beautiful, oart-novella, part-fable, part-poem – a breathtakingly good read. (Review)

6 Honorary Mentions (because whittling it down to just 10 was beyond impossible!)

Honorary Mentions 2

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
Our Spoons Came From Woolworths by Barbara Comyns
Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell
The Red House Mystery by A.A Milne

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVOURITE BOOKS from the past 3 years

  1. Our Spoons Came from Woolworths sounds quite interesting. Lots of possibilities here on your list…thanks!

    I tweaked the prompt a bit, too. Here’s my TTT!

Leave a Reply

