Looking Back on 2014

2014 reviewLooking back over the past 12 months, it has been a pretty amazing year for me with a lot of changes and a lot of milestones reached – even this review of the year is one, it’s my 100th TTW post!

I celebrated a year of going Through the Wardrobe in May and I have absolutely loved being part of the blogging and book reviewing community – thank you all so much for keeping me motivated to write while you read! I have a brand new reading challenge for 2015 which I will launch later this week so keep your eyes peeled for details!

In August this year I finally landed a job working in children’s books which has felt like a complete dream! It seemed like a very long road to get there (anyone who is starting out in the publishing world should know how I feel!) but I have some amazing opportunities at my new company and I am very excited for what 2015 holds!

I moved house shortly after starting my new job and am absolutely loving my new home! I’ve settled in now and received some lovely homely things for Christmas to make it even cosier (as well as just a few more books for my bookcase!).

I also started my second year of my MA in Children’s Literature and my world has been rocked by picture books the last three months which has been nothing short of delightful! Starting in January we focus on journeys and adventure so you may see some old classics reappearing in review form on here.

So last but not least, I have to choose my book of 2014. I have read and discovered some absolutely amazing books over the past 12 months (a full list can be found on my 2014 Goodreads page) and it has been unbelievably difficult to decide on just one.

I have found two new favourite authors in Rainbow Rowell and Carlos Ruiz Zafón and will be reading a lot more of both of them in 2015 but I have to say the book that completely blew me away was Zafón’s The Shadow of the Wind and it is my book of 2014!

The Shadow of the Wind

2 thoughts on “Looking Back on 2014

    • Aww thank you, you too lovely! I am aiming to have some more children’s and picture books featuring – I spend a lot of my time surrounded by them so would make sense!

Leave a Reply

