Through the Wardrobe – March Books

The evenings are lighter, daffodils and crocuses are blossoming and the weather has finally turned – I love springtime! March went by SO quickly, being an incredibly busy month for me filled with festivals, a long weekend break with my sister to Paris and turning one year older. It’s just all go!

I had so much fun stewarding at the Bath Literature Festival again this month, seeing fantastic events from Joanna Trollope on her modern revision of Sense and Sensibility (almost persuaded to try but not a fan of Austen reworked generally), Kate Williams on the phenomenal life of Josephine Bonaparte (an amazingly interesting character), a brilliant discussion on a modern woman’s place in society led by Kirsty Wark and many more! The time I spend stewarding at Bath Lit festivals, despite being hard on the feet, is one I absolutely treasure because you get to see events you wouldn’t necessarily have chosen to see and meet people from all walks of literary life.

As you might expect discussing literature all day does whet the appetite somewhat and, despite being very good and (on request) not receiving any books for my birthday, I did indulge when in Bath. In my defence, it was always going to happen! So here are my springtime treats…

Half Bad by Sally Green
One of the great things about bookshops is you get to overhear some great conversations about books – I picked this one up because two parents were vehemently trying to persuade their teen into buying this title after hearing a radio interview from the author and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about!

Heartburn by Nora Ephron
What could be more delicious than Nora Ephron (superstar screenwriter of When Harry Met Sally and Sleepless in Seattle) and her wit combined with a novel focussed on love, loss, revenge and recipes?!

The Princess Bride by William Goldman
A colleague at work has been trying to get me to watch the film of this for an absolute age! There was something stopping me and I think it might be to do with my impulse to read the book first before watching the film – no excuses now.

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell
I am about halfway through this book and have already selected about 5 quotes from it to live by – I love it! Recent winner of the Waterstone’s Children’s Book Award and shortlisted for the Carnegie, it’s easy to see why.

I, Coriander by Sally Gardner
Another book already devoured pre-monthly round up (review coming soon)! The purchase of I, Coriander was for wider reading and possibly subject matter for my end of term MA essay on time and history in children’s literature. I absolutely adored Gardner’s story-telling, it is just effortlessly magical.

 

Review or complimentary copies

Thirteen by Tom Hoyle
Those of you may remember that I bought this title in eBook form last month and commented on the effectiveness of the striking cover. Having then proceeded to win a hard copy on Goodreads nigh on two days later I can tell you, you ain’t seen nothing yet! Brilliant piece of book production.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
I have very recently become part of Bookbridgr, a new resource offered to book bloggers by Headline to post reviews, see author interviews, request copies of upcoming titles etc. This new one by Matthew Quick is my first bookbridgr title.

Leave a Reply

