Through the Wardrobe – October Books

This month I finally got my hands on one of the Books Are My Bag bags! It’s part of the nationwide campaign to raise awareness and support for indie bookshops and I am so happy and proud to use mine to and from uni (that, and I love a pun)! I got mine from the wonderfully named Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights situated in the beautiful Bath, along with a few of this month’s book purchases.

For me, absolutely NOTHING beats searching the shelves for a new book, discovering authors and novels you would never have found otherwise. No matter how convenient or cheaper online shopping is, you lose the spontaneity of book purchases when you click so we really need to support our local bookshops. See the campaign’s website for more info and participating bookshops.

Now, off my soapbox and into my October book purchases…

Oct '13

Capital by John Lanchester [Kindle] – Lanchester’s brilliant yellow cover has been a coveted read for me for a while now. Focussed on a cross-section of London society, I can’t wait to discover all Lanchester’s city has to offer.

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein – after reading the amazing Code Name Verity earlier this year I am really looking forward to exploring Wein’s stellar storytelling again.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine – I read this book years and years ago and with fairytales a big part of my MA this term, I really wanted to get back and discover this reimagining of Cinderella once more.

Silver Bay by Jojo Moyes [Kindle] – another author whose previous work I’ve loved. I absolutely devoured her Me Before You which had me bursting into tears on a Sunday evening train home (a book totally worth looking like a crazy lady for though!). She creates characters you can’t help but love and, despite the overly chick lit/holiday read covers, you will remember them long afterwards.

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood – one of my main bugbears of eReaders is that it prevents nosiness when you commute (and I do love to be nosy)! However, in this case, was sat opposite a woman who was reading a hardcopy of this Atwood, looking so engrossed in it that I was intrigued to have a look myself.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys – As you can see in my review of Sepetys’ debut Between Shades of Gray, I fell in love with her writing style and can’t wait to dive back into it with this second offering.

Nothing by Janne Teller – I hadn’t heard anything about this book before I stewarded at an event at Bath Children’s Literature Festival. It is a translated YA novel with a controversial reputation and I can’t wait to see what comes from Nothing.

The Shining and Salem’s Lot by Stephen King [Kindle] – inspired by my Spectacular Spooktacular feature, I’ve bitten the bullet and bought my first two SKs (both on offer for Halloween). I may wait for the evenings to brighten up a bit before starting these though so my overactive imagination doesn’t go into total overdrive on walks home in the dark!

With the night’s drawing in and the wind picking up (hurricanes galore…!), nothing says winter to me more than curling up in a chair with a good book. What will you choose this month?

5 thoughts on “Through the Wardrobe – October Books

  1. I’ve been wanting to read something by Ruta Sepetys for a while. Got to get through all the other books I already own first though! Although this campaign has really intrigued me so I might end up picking something up at some point.

  2. Totally support this campaign and would love to get my hands on one of the bags (have wanted one since seeing them launch at the London Book Fair in April). If I had not perused the tables at Foyles on one windy afternoon this summer I would now not be entirely engrossed in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy.

    • I do love me a messaged tote! I have had my eye on that trilogy following your recommendation so may be tempted to buy it this month – you’ll have to let me know if the investment’s worth it xx

Leave a Reply

