Through the Wardrobe – September Books

I thought I had been really good this month in terms book buying restraint but when I came to collect the books together for the September Book Haul ‘family’ photo, I realised I was wrong! Apparently in celebration of the fact that I only purchased one eBook this month I rewarded myself with lots of hardcopies…my internal logic astounds me sometimes?!

I started my MA in Children’s Literature last month which is already unbelievably interesting but quite a challenge, particularly as I’m working full time as well. I want to keep reading other books as much as can and reviewing my discoveries for your delectation but they may be posted in an irregular manner until I get used to balancing my new workload – you have been warned!

I’ve also been back up in one of my favourite cities, Bath, for my second Children’s Literature Festival. I worked last Sunday and going back again this weekend for a full timetable of literary delights and I absolutely love my time there! Stewarding is so much fun – you get to see authors speak that you wouldn’t have heard from otherwise, see how excited children get about books and just have a great time generally. There are still tickets available for this weekend so if you fancy Go[ing] West, please do!

Now you’re all caught up on little me, here are my September books:Sept '13

Mr Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan [Kindle]
This book has been doing the rounds in the blogosphere and I’ve finally got round to downloading it on the Kindle. As a former bookshop worker, I’m really interested to read about someone discovering the bookshop world, particularly in the mysterious sounding Mr Penumbra’s.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
I bought this book in the beautiful Bath indie bookshop Mr B’s Emporium last weekend. I have heard so many good things about Tell the Wolves I’m Home that I just couldn’t resist.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
I never read this as a child but have always been aware of it as a ‘classic, must read’, a book that sells a million copies a year since publication must be a worthy read! I’m not entirely sure what finally made me bite the bullet to purchase but I’m really excited to finally meet the little prince and see if reputation meets expectation.

Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy
The fabulous Hot Key Books recently revealed that they are publishing the follow up novel to Looking for JJ in February 2014, nearly a decade after the original. I had never heard of Anne Cassidy’s novel before this announcement but immediately looked it up and liked what I found. It seems to be along very similar lines to Channel 4’s Boy A and I’m really looking forward to seeing how she tackles the subject of new identity and hidden pasts.

Someone Like You by Roald Dahl
As a lifelong fan of Dahl, I have only ever really read his novels for children – fearing that if I venture too far from the stories I adore, that I will discover something other than genius! However, in light of Roald Dahl Day last month (13th September) I decided to change this course and venture into the world of his short stories. Wish me luck!

Presumed Innocent by Scott Turow
I was having a chat with my Uncle about mystery and crime novels and he immediately recommended Scott Turow’s legal thriller. Unfortunately it is the case (pun a little bit intended) that I have already seen the film adaptation but I’m hoping it was long enough ago that it won’t ruin the novel – fingers crossed!

Mystic River by Dennis Lehane
Dennis Lehane’s novels have been the base for many successful films with Mystic River being a particular example as Clint Eastwood’s version was nominated Best Film in the 2004 Academy Awards. His proven reputation for creating stories that translate so well to film is what drew me to purchasing my first Lehane.

Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
I absolutely loved my first dip into Hemingway with The Old Man and the Sea [review]. I was initially absolutely terrified of his gravitas as an author, with visions of convoluted writing and confusing phrasings, but he proved me wrong and I couldn’t wait to dip into his work again. I chose Fiesta for my second foray because the premise is so different to The Old Man… and I can’t wait to dip into the American expatriate life in 1920s Paris.

The Classic Fairy Tales edited by Maria Tatar
and
My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me edited by Kate Bernheimer
I’ve got both of these for my MA – the Tatar anthology is one of our core texts for our theory module this term and the Bernheimer is a collection of new fairy stories written by modern authors that I picked up at Mr B’s in Bath for personal interest. I was warned by the sales assistant that some of the new fairy stories are quite dark so I’m really looking forward to making comparisons between the two books.

Happy October reading everyone!

One thought on “Through the Wardrobe – September Books

Leave a Reply

