Through the Wardrobe – August Books

Apologies for the lateness of this August round-up; my life has been on pause due to a half-marathon that took place last Sunday (2 hours 20 minutes of physical torture!) but I’m recovered now and ready to share!

As you may have guessed from my recent post (An Interesting Turn of Events) post, last month’s book purchases were quite extensive and mainly children’s lit related. I also went a bit ‘Kindle happy’ this month which happens when I find myself in the Kindle bookstore for a prolonged period of time! I must admit I do much prefer buying physical books but with less than a month to go before the start of uni, and many children’s classics free or 99p for digital copies, my Kindle was an absolute godsend.

The fruits of August include:

August '13

The Ocean at the Other End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
I haven’t actually read any Neil Gaiman (sacrilege I know!) but my Mum randomly passed this new title on to me and I certainly intended to get stuck right in, at the most opportune moment…

The Girl Who Ruled Fairyland for a Little While by Catherynne M. Valente [Kindle]
I absolutely fell in love with Valente’s writing when I read The Girl Who Circumnavigated… last year and I’m planning a reread and review shortly. So when this novelet was on offer on Kindle, I had to purchase!

The Bone Dragon by Alexia Casale [Kindle]
This book has been doing the rounds recently and, as it was recommended when I purchased The Girl Who Ruled… I thought why not?!

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
A quintessential classic that has yet to grace my reading brain but is now on my bookshelf! At 1024 pages I’m looking forward to my autumn holiday so I can just curl up, devour, and (hopefully) adore Mitchell’s much-loved novel.

The Dinner by Herman Koch
With such hype surrounding this novel, I had to see what all the fuss was about and it’s true this is a book you can’t not talk about! I wrote my review within seconds of finishing this and it is a definite must for book clubs everywhere.

The Thoughts and Happenings of Wilfred Price, Purveyor of Superior Funerals by Wendy Jones [Kindle]
Drawn by the whimsical title, this book promises to house a really interesting story of a man, Wilfred Price, who accidentally proposes to a girl he isn’t in love with…

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein [Kindle]
I have been dying to read this book for such a long time – recommendations for Wein have been flying around left, right and centre – and with its sequel just released I was reminded to finally purchase. Definitely the top of my list to read next!

Fruitloops & Dipsticks by Ulf Stark
Another Nosy Crow book group purchase, this Swedish text is the first children’s novel ‘in translation’ we are looking at and I hope it too lives up to its title.

Elephant Moon by John Sweeney [Kindle]
The simplistic cover just sang out to me as I was exploring the Kindle bookshop. The subject matter of the Japanese entering Burma in the Second World War isn’t something that would normally draw me to pick up a book because I don’t know much about that side of the war but having read Between Shades of Gray recently and loved it (review pending) I know that ignorance of an issue doesn’t necessarily mean book boredom.

A Bright Moon for Fools by Jasper Gibson [Kindle]
A total impulse purchase! The lovely Dawn O’Porter recommended this on Twitter recently and, as it was in the Kindle sale at 99p I thought I’d give it a whirl.

And now for some MA-related purchases (watch out for some serious children’s lit coming your way!):
The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan [Kindle]
Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones [Kindle]
Blood Red, Snow White by Marcus Sedgwick
The Children of Green Knowe by LM Boston
Five Children and It, The Phoenix and the Carpet, The Story of the Amulet and The Railway Children by E Nesbit [Kindle]
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett [Kindle]
The Complete Brothers Grimm’s Fairy Tales [Kindle]
Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales [Kindle]

Happy September (yes, September – when did that happen?!) reading!

3 thoughts on “Through the Wardrobe – August Books

  1. Pingback: Through the Wardrobe – August books | ChristianBookBarn.com

Leave a Reply

