Through the Wardrobe – July Books

I think I’ve been really good this month, book buying wise, as I’m trying to get through my To Be Read pile rather than purchasing. Still, it is a compulsion so I do have some lovely new additions to share with you:

July 13

Black Dog by Levi Pinfold – I discovered a beautiful double page spread taken from this book nearly two years ago at an event and am so glad to finally own this award-winning picture book

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Vols 1–4 – I grew up with the early series of Buffy and rediscovered the brilliance of the show whilst at university. After recently finishing the final DVD boxset, I didn’t want it to be over – it couldn’t be over! So I’ve now started the Whedon comic continuation and, though it’s a different format, the genius and characters are still, thankfully, there!

March by Geraldine Brooks – I reread the Louisa May Alcott’s quadrilogy (Little Women; Good Wives; Little Men; Jo’s Boys) late last year to rekindle my lifelong love of the March sisters. I discovered this novel in a second-hand bookshop in Shropshire and loved the idea of discovering more about the elusive head of the household. Brooks’ novel follows Mr March from the Concord hearth and his girls, deep into the heart of the action in the American Civil War. I’m really looking forward to seeing if it manages to capture Alcott’s legacy.

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner – as the first book acquired and third published by fresh faced publisher Hot Key Books Maggot Moon has done astoundingly well, winning both the Costa Children’s Book Award and the prestigious Carnegie Medal this year. With such a reception, I can’t help but feel obliged to dive straight in.

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café by Fannie Flagg – There was a film trailer at the beginning of one of my ancient videos that I always made sure I watched just because of the name, Fried Green Tomatoes. I later discovered that it was an adaptation of a book (one that had been favourably reviewed by Harper Lee herself no less!) and so I couldn’t resist finally fulfilling my curiosity.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – I recently took a trip back to my university city of Cardiff to visit one of my besties and she very kindly lent me the first of Martin’s seemingly universally read series to try. Since failed attempts at Tolkien I usually avoid anything similar like the plague but it has been recommended to me by all and sundry and now thrust into my hand so I owe it to Lucy to give it a whirl sometime soon!

A Boy and A Bear in a Boat by Dave Shelton – Bought in preparation of the August Nosy Crow book club, Shelton’s novel recently won the Branford Boase Award for most outstanding debut novel so I’m looking forward to seeing what all the fuss is about, reviewing and discussing in detail.

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro – featured in almost all ‘Books to read before you die’ lists (and other with less final titles), my Mum finally got round to finishing Ishiguro’s Man Booker winner and so now I have pinched it, mainly to bask in a hopefully fulfilled excellent literary reputation but also so I can be one step closer to a happy demise!

The House at Pooh Corner by A.A. Milne – Now I have read Pooh and absolutely Milne’s writing so this book was a discovery when back in Shropshire again. I always bought my books for university but had completely forgotten about this fully illustrated version of The House at Pooh Corner – back home it came to add some loveliness to my bookshelf!

Happy August Reading everyone!

